The New Year! Where I’ve Been and Where I’m Going

A New Year!

Where I’ve been and where I’m going

 

Out with the old and in with the new. Isn’t that the phrase? I’d like to keep much of what I learned in 2012. It was, in many ways, a banner year.

My co-author, Lynette Willows and I, got down to business with our decade-plus interactive writing for fun and practice, and wrote our first book. A 90K Historical Romance set in 1775 Colonial America entitled ‘No Gentleman Is He’. We were accepted for publication with Tirgearr Publishing, allowing us to work with a phenomenal staff. Exciting stuff!

2012 was an unforgettable journey in writing. My coauthor’s creative genius cannot be ignored. It well-compliments my own more grounded approach. Tirgearr Publishing, owned by Kemberlee and Peter Shortland, is more than either Lynette or I could have hoped for. Kem is hands on, there for anything we need. Our editor, Patricia McAllister, is a God-sent. She highlighted the best of the book and had us concentrate on that aspect, making the book read flawlessly.

I gained more than knowledge, planted in front of my laptop. My more sedentary life-style put a few too many pounds in all of the wrong places. If I’m to be honest, the weight had been creeping on over the last few years. It was slow, barely noticeable. Or so I told myself. August 29, I woke, tied my robe and caught an unpleasant glimpse of those few-too-many pounds in the mirror. That day I decided ‘Enough!’ Nineteen weeks and 36 pounds lighter, I have accomplished nearly all my weight loss goal. Fifteen more pounds, and then my life-style change to keep it off begins. My BP, always a healthy number, had begun to climb. Not to dangerous levels, but in a few years, who knows? Now that bottom 80 number is down to 70. No longer do I fear diabetes. Energy?  Pffft, I feel like I’m 25 again! Clothes I’d given up on have suddenly reappeared in my wardrobe.

My only regret? I did a professional photo shoot October 22, for both my author’s kit and a special date coming up this February. A couple of days ago I was looking at the pictures and noticed my face had a round, puffy appearance.  I had only been dieting for two months. Maybe I need (deserve?) another shoot?

I would be remiss if I did not mention the 2012 re-connection to a very special cousin, Dana Matthews. We were close in our younger years, drifting apart while we busied ourselves raising families. Our re-connection has led to some long, way-overdue girl talks, and a couple of exhilarating trips to New York City. There is little that can compare to taking a healthy bite of the Big Apple!

The mister and I purchased a shiny new red Rav 4. Yes, yes, I know, not exciting but perfect for tossing a few bags in the back and tooling to upstate New York to see our youngest son. Unless we are traveling with grandchildren, we don’t need the back seats at all. As thrilling as this part of life as an empty-nester is, accepting that our son has been in NY for four years and is not likely to move back, has been a challenge for me. Speaking of challenges, losses and disappointments…all years have a few.

A couple of hurtful moments, disappointments and the like were sprinkled throughout the year. I refer to them as learning moments to make them more palatable.

August 5, 2012 brought the loss of my husband’s grandmother. Born the year the Titanic sunk, she left us one month shy of her 100th birthday. She was an amazing woman who taught us all so much, it is impossible to view 100 years of life as a loss. Her funeral was, in every sense of the word, a celebration that I was honored to attend.

 

What about 2013?

Bring it on, baby!

I am not big on New Year Resolutions since they’re probably easier to break than those made throughout the year. I made an exception for 2013 and brought it in with the resolve to exercise. I am on the floor, twisting and turning in motions I was unaware my 56-year-old body could still accomplish. Weight loss, vitamins and exercise. I’m beginning to think there is hope for me yet!

February is huge. Epic. On February 14th my husband, Monty and I, will celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. A quarter of a century. Wow. The lyrics Through tear drops and laughter we passed through this world hand-in-hand has always reminded me of my marriage. We held each other’s hand bringing children into this world, burying parents and every little thing in between.

The latter half of 2006 and the beginning of 2007 was a tumultuous season in our marriage. A heart-wrenching time when we were estranged from one of our children, we also pulled each other through my hospitalized sister nearly losing her life, my sister-in-law diagnosed with ALS and my father-in-law passing away on Christmas Eve. We rode for 12 hours to Muncie, Indiana with not even a truck on the road for company, holding hands and listening to ‘I’ll Be Home for Christmas’ on the radio.  My sister lived. His didn’t. We buried his father on a bitter cold December day and made it home before the New Year. Differences with our child were settled one beautiful, warm afternoon over a requested spaghetti dinner. As difficult as that period in our lives was, and as much as I would not want to re-live it, we all come out stronger. Especially our marriage.

I did mention another reason February would be…epic. Did I say epic? Nothing less. That book? The first of a trilogy my co-author and I wrote? It is slated for release in February 2013! Yes. Yes! It’s almost here. I will be shouting the exact release date from the hilltops as soon as my publisher announces it! Shortly, I will write another post dedicated exclusively to ‘No Gentleman Is He‘ by Carley Bauer (my pseudonym) and Lynette Willows! For now, suffice to say it is going to be one of 2013’s biggest sellers. I can feel it.

Lynette Willows and I are busy working on Book Two of our trilogy and hoping to finish well before autumn of this year. As an aside, I am also working on another historical romance. Flying solo this time, which should be an adventure!

With that, I wish you all a happy, healthy, prosperous, follow-your-dreams, New Year!

 

Carley Bauer

 

Leave a Reply

